skip to main content


The Meertens Institute studies and documents language and culture in the Netherlands as well as Dutch language and culture throughout the world. We focus on the phenomena that shape everyday life in society. Together with the Huygens Institute for the History of the Netherlands (Huygens ING) and the International Institute of Social History (IISH) the Meertens Institute forms the KNAW Humanities Cluster.


Managing Director: Prof. Dr Antal van den Bosch

Director of Operations: Sabine Rummens

Head of Research Council: Prof. Dr Irene Stengs

Head of Digital Infrastructure: Menno Rasch

Operational Management

The non-scholarly services and facilities of the institute – such as the departments of Personnel, Finance, Communications, DTP, Reception, and the Secretariat – have been housed at the Planning and Control Department of the KNAW Humanities Cluster.

Director of Operations: Sabine Rummens


The staff members of the Communications Department are responsible for the organisation of internal and external activities and expressions related to communications. These also include activities such as web editing and desktop publishing (DTP). In addition, the Secretariat provides support to the Management Team.

Communications & PR: Simone Wolff, MA

Webmaster: Dr Mathilde Jansen


For more than ninety years, the Meertens Institute has been acquiring archives and its researchers have been building (digital) collections. This unique material in the field of Dutch ethnology and variation linguistics is part of the national heritage of the Netherlands.

Library Coordinator: Lidy Jansen

Manager Collections and Senior Research Data Manager: Douwe Zeldenrust, MA

Digital Infrastructure

The Digital Infrastructure Department moves at the interface of ICT, research, and cultural heritage. It also manages several websites on behalf of the Meertens Institute that enable accessibility of general information and reseach results to the general public and to other researchers.

Head: Menno Rasch

Science Committee

The Science Committee is a committee appointed by the Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences (KNAW) which advises both the management of the institute and the Board of Management of the KNAW. At present, the Science Committee includes the following members:

Prof. Dr John Nerbonne, M Sc (Head), University of Groningen

Prof. Dr Liliane Haegeman, Ghent University

Pf. Dr Valdimar Hafstein, University of Iceland

Prof. Dr Henkjan Honing, University of Amsterdam

Prof. Dr Roeland van Hout, Radboud University Nijmegen

Prof. Dr Marc Jacobs, Flemish Interface Centre for Cultural Heritage (FARO)

Prof. Dr Joep Leerssen, University of Amsterdam

Prof. Dr Alexandra Lenz, Institute of Germanic Studies (University of Vienna)

Prof. Dr Andreas Witt, University of Cologne